Married Life from Hitched - Social network for married couples

One of the love languages is Words of Affirmation (book referenced above).Words of affirmation come in many forms including praise, acknowledgement, credit, recognition, validation, compliments, and appreciation. Each of these are a gift in and of themselves. When you use these, you show your partner that you notice and see them, appreciate them, like and accept them, that you are proud of them, that you cherish them, that you understand and get them.

How much easier would our relationship be if we consistently showered our partner with these gifts? Most couples’ disconnect come from not feeling gotten by their partner. They don’t necessarily need to have Words of Affirmation as their primary love language, but please know that all human beings need to feel understood, gotten. If your partner is not keen on thank yous and compliments, that’s fine, but do use the other types of affirmations to show your partner you get them and like them!

Feeling gotten is a very primal need. In being gotten, we know we exist and that we are OK. We know we are important and that we matter. This is paramount that parents do for their children, showing the children they understand where they are coming from. A lot of the time, we did not receive this as children ourselves because we had less than perfect parenting. Now is the chance to receive these gifts and to bestow them onto our partner. Note that we are not always ready to receive the good stuff. Be patient with yourselves and each other. It might be initially strange and scary to all of sudden know you exist and matter… and to be in intimate connection…

Be attentive, curious and gentle in your approach. Surprise your partner with your interest and mindfulness. Show them you get them and their world (you don’t have to necessarily agree with it but just accept it). Show them you like and love them, quirks and all!

Happy Affirming!! 


~ Your MetroRelationship™ Assignment

Invite your partner to a getting to know you better session. Each of you list on a piece of paper the Five Love Languages (Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch) and on separate columns rate them in terms of importance to you and what you believe is important to your partner. Compare and discuss your findings. Keep them in mind as tailor how you show love to each other! 


~ Share Your Thoughts & Successes in the comment box at the end!

Take a moment now to share below any thoughts, comments, take away, tips, and successes! PLEASE post a comment now – we grow in community!

Thanks for connecting with the MetroRelationship™ Family!


   Copyright (c) 2016 Emma K. Viglucci. All rights reserved.


Want to Use this Article in Your Own Website or Publication? 

Be our guest! Here is how, you MUST include: 
Emma K. Viglucci, LMFT is the Founder and Director of Metropolitan Marriage & Family Therapy, PLLC, a private practice that specializes in working with couples, she is the creator of the MetroRelationship:tm: philosophy and a variety of Successful Couple :tm: content that assist couples succeed at their relationship and their life. Stay Connected:tm: with Emma and receive weekly Connection Notes in your inbox with Personal Growth and Relationship Enrichment insights and strategies, visit:

Views: 99


You need to be a member of Married Life from Hitched - Social network for married couples to add comments!

Join Married Life from Hitched - Social network for married couples

Hitched Podcast

Episode 587: Loneliness Within Marriage

Even if you're in isolation with your spouse doesn't mean that you still can't be lonely. Dr. Karen Sherman joins to discuss how this is possible, what this means and how to address feeling lonely in marriage.

© 2021   Created by hitched.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service